2020 Lilly Endowment Scholarship Finalists Announced

Fayette Community Foundation is pleased to announce Fayette County’s 2020 Lilly Endowment Community Scholarship Program finalists:


Caroline Cooley, Connersville High School

Morgan Hauger, Connersville High School

Ryleigh Loper, Connersville High School

Hunter Lovett, Connersville High School

High school seniors that will be graduating in 2020, that have a permanent residents but attending high school outside the county, are eligible for the Lilly Endowment Community Scholarship.  This year, applications were scored on three sections by a scholarship processing firm.  “Outsourcing the application scoring was done for the Community Foundation’s general scholarships earlier this year.  The online process is easy for the applicants to apply and for the firm to score the applications against the provided rubric”, stated Maureen Feltz, foundation program officer.

“Each year, we receive an outstanding pool of applications for the highly competitive award. These four accomplished young adult are truly some of the best and brightest students residing in Fayette County. The finalists were selected based solely on the criteria, which include academic ability, achievements, activities and citizenship; however, financial need is not a consideration in Fayette County,” said Feltz.   From the four finalists, one  Fayette County resident will be awarded the Lilly Endowment Community Scholarship which will pay their full four-year tuition at any Indiana college or university, plus required fees.  The Lilly Endowment Community Scholarship recipients will also receive $900 per year for books and required equipment.

Students applying for the Fayette County Lilly Endowment Community Scholarship are also encouraged to apply for any and all other scholarships where they meet the criteria. If the student selected as the recipient receives other scholarships or awards for tuition and fees, they will be required to either turn down the other awards or forfeit the Lilly and accept the other awards. At no time can the recipient receive both. If the student recipient, after being named, declines the Lilly Scholarship, it will be immediately awarded to the alternate.

Feltz shared, “Lilly Endowment Inc. continues to be a generous benefactor to our outstanding local students and their educational goals. We are grateful for this incredible program that has motivated and provided funding for thirty-seven previous Lilly Endowment Community Scholars in Cass County since 1998.”