Lilly Endowment Community Scholarship

The Lilly Endowment Community Scholarship Program (LECSP) is administered statewide by Independent Colleges of Indiana (ICI) and locally in Fayette County through the Fayette Community Foundation. The 2024 program is open to all Fayette County residents who:

  • Graduate from an accredited Indiana high school and receive their diploma no later than June 30, 2024; and
  • intend to pursue a full-time baccalaureate course of study at an eligible college or university in Indiana
The primary purposes of LECSP are:
  1. To help raise the level of educational attainment in Indiana;
  2. To increase awareness of the beneficial roles Indiana community foundations can play in their communities; and
  3. To encourage and support the efforts of current and past Lilly Endowment Community Scholars to engage with each other and with Indiana business, governmental, educational, nonprofit and civic leaders to improve the quality of life in Indiana generally and in local communities throughout the state.

2024 LECSP Timeline:

  • August 18th: Application Opens
  • September 1st: Applications Due
  • September 10th: Recommendations Due
  • October 6th: Finalists Notified
  • October 17th: Meet and Greet
  • October 19th: Finalists Interviews
  • December 2023: 2024 LECSP Recipient Notified


In order to further the primary purposes of LECSP the Fayette Community Foundation is looking for a well rounded individual to represent Fayette County in the 25th Cohort of scholars. The written application is worth 50% of the overall score and includes the following criteria:

  • Academic Achievement (20%),
  • Volunteering and Community Engagement (15%),
  • Extracurricular Activities (10%),
  • Recommendations (6%),
  • First Generation College Student (4%),
  • Special Circumstances (5%), and
  • Essay Responses (40%).

Finalists will be invited to participate in an In-Person Interview and Presentation that will constitute the other 50% of the overall score.

Click Here to Apply for the 2024 Lilly Endowment Community Scholarship Program

Past Recipients:

2023 Garrett Templeton
2022  Madison Mullins
2021  Shayla Crawford
2020  Ryleigh Loper
2019  Alex King
2018  Sophia Atkins
2017  Kylei Klein
2016  Sam Fain
2015  Riley Stegner
2014  Emma Ross
2013  Robby Marschand
2012  Gil Stamm
2011  Chelsy Fields
2010 Tyler Clavell & Claire Gragg Steiner
2009  David Johnson & Catherine Ross Madinger
2008  Eric King & Kindsey Myers Niehues
2007  Gail Gardiner & Jordan Pflum
2006  Jason Arnold & Austin Lucari
2005  Krista Eakins Fox & Joe Gesell
2004  Deanna Miller, Matt Day & Tyler Blakley
2003  Emily Pflum Flanigan, Emily Paris & Colin McKinney
2002  Lauren Wood, Kevin Powell & Katie Fledderman
2001  Sarah Million, Heather Stanley Kilgour & Christi Starr Holmes
2000  Andy Irrigang & Beau Gentry
1999  Ryan Lingg & Jackie Chandler Benitezr
1998  Travis Morris